Know Your Brain:

The brain has three main parts, the cerebrum, the cerebellum, and the brain stem. The brain is divided into regions that control specific functions.


Frontal Lobe



Responsible for:

  • Behavior
  • Problem solving
  • Attention
  • Creative thought
  • Some emotion
  • Reflection
  • Judgment
  • Initiative
  • Coordination of movements
  • Some eye movements
  • Sense of smell
  • Muscle movements
  • Skilled movements
  • Physical reaction
  • Libido (sexual urges)


Occipital Lobe



Responsible for:

  • Vision
  • Reading



Parietal Lobe


Responsible for:

  • Sense of touch
  • Appreciation of form through touch
  • Response to internal stimuli
  • Sensory combination and comprehension
  • Some language and reading functions
  • Some visual functions


Temporal Lobe


Responsible for:

  • Auditory memories
  • Some hearing
  • Visual memories
  • Some vision pathways
  • Music
  • Some language
  • Some speech
  • Some behavior and emotions
  • Sense of identity




  • Motor and sensory pathway to body and face
  • Vital centers: cardiac, respiratory, vasomotor



  • Moods and motivation
  • Sexual maturation
  • Temperature regulation
  • Hormonal body processes


Optic Chiasm

  • Vision and the optic nerve


Pituitary Gland

  • Hormonal body processes
  • Physical maturation
  • Growth (height and form)
  • Sexual maturation
  • Sexual functioning


Spinal Cord

  • Conduit and source of sensation and movement


Ventricles and Cerebral Aqueduct

  • Contains the cerebrospinal fluid that bathes the brain and spinal cord


Right Hemisphere (the representational hemisphere)

  • The right hemisphere controls the left side of the body
  • Temporal and spatial relationships
  • Analyzing nonverbal information
  • Communicating emotion


Left Hemisphere (the categorical hemisphere)

  • The left hemisphere controls the right side of the body
  • Produce and understand language


Corpus Callosum


  •   Communication between the left and right side of the brain



  • Balance
  • Posture
  • Cardiac, respiratory, and vasomotor centers