The Michael L. Gargano
   9th Annual Research Day

Friday, May 6th, 2011
Sponsored by: Office of the Dean
  Home Call for Papers Venue/Registration Schedule  

Student-Faculty Research Day provides students and faculty with the opportunity to present their research.

This year's conference is dedicated to the work of Dr. Frank Rosenblatt, the inventor of perceptrons.

In 1957 Frank Rosenblatt invented a type of artificial neural network called the perceptron, the first computing machine that could simulate human thought processes and learn new skills by trial and error. Through the study of neurodynamics through perceptrons, Cornell Professor Rosenblatt hoped that "the fundamental laws of organization which are common to all information handling systems, machines and men included, may eventually be understood." Details of Rosenblatt's Contributions.

    The IEEE Frank Rosenblatt Award was established in 2004. The award is named in honor of Frank Rosenblatt, who is widely regarded as one of the founders of neural networks. Basing his research on study of fly vision, he developed the single-layer input layer and an output layer of neural cells. Frequent presentation of a pattern or patterns resulted in changes in the input to output connections, facilitating future recognition of these patterns, or memory. His work influenced and even anticipated many modern neural network approaches.
    This award is presented for outstanding contribution(s) to the advancement of the design, practice, techniques or theory in biologically and linguistically motivated computational paradigms including but not limited to neural networks, connectionist systems, evolutionary computation, fuzzy systems, and hybrid intelligent systems in which these paradigms are contained.

This year's conference will consist of:

  • Light breakfast and lunch
  • Welcome by Dean Constance A. Knapp
  • Keynote address by Dr. George Nagy, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Presentations by students and collaborators of Dr. Frank Rosenblatt
  • Presentation of accepted conference papers
Conference Co-Chairs: Dean Constance A. Knapp and Dr. Charles Tappert
Program Chair: Dr. Allen Stix
Arrangements Chair: Ms. Chris Longo
Other Assistance: Assoc. Dean Bernice Houle and Ms. Gerry Forstrom
Any questions, send email to Ms. Chris Longo.